The Costa Del Sol is located withing the province of Malaga, more specifically it is the coastal area between Marbella to the southwest and Nerja to the southeast. Malaga is part of the wider area called Andalusia. See below for some general information and details on Malaga and other provinces from around the Andalusian region of southern Spain.

Andalusia Provinces

Malaga Province (Costa del Sol)

Málaga is located in southern Spain, on the Costa del Sol on the northern side of the Mediterranean Sea. It lies about 100 km east of the Strait of Gibraltar and about 130 km east of Tarifa (the southernmost point of continental Europe) and about 130 km on north of Africa. Málaga, together with the following adjacent towns and municipalities: Rincón de la Victoria, Torremolinos, Benalmádena, Fuengirola, Alhaurín de la Torre, Mijas, Marbella and San Pedro Alcántara form the urban area with a population in excess of a million residents and the urban area stretches mostly along a narrow strip of coastline. The Málaga metropolitan area includes additional municipalities located mostly in the mountains area north of the coast and also some on the coast: Cártama, Pizarra, Coín, Monda, Ojén, Alhaurín el Grande and Estepona on west; Casabermeja on north; Totalán, Algarrobo, Torrox and Vélez-Málaga eastward from Málaga.

Southern Spain Andalusia Provinces

Andalusia provinces include Malaga, Almeria, Cadiz, Cordoba, Granada, Huelva, Jaen and Seville.

Almeria Province

The highest mountain range in the Province of Almería is the 50 km long Sierra de Los Filabres. Europe’s driest area is found in Almería and is part of the Cabo de Gata-Níjar Natural Park. The arid landscape and climate that characterises part of the province have made it an ideal setting for Western films, especially during the 1960s. Because of the demand for these locations, quite a number of Western towns were built near the Desert of Tabernas. Films such as A Fistful of Dollars, For a Few Dollars More, and The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly were shot here. Years later the film of 800 Bullets was filmed in the same place. Large sections of Lawrence of Arabia and Patton were shot there as well. The main river is the Andarax River, which is located near Granada in the Alpujarras. The Beninar Reservoir, located near Darrical, provides part of the water needed in the production in greenhouses.

Cadiz Province

The province of Cádiz in Andalusia has many miles of beaches and the highest number of Blue Flags of all coastal provinces in Europe according to data from 2005. Some of these beaches are relatively wild and far from big urban areas due to the closeness of natural reserves. One of the attractions of the area is the contrast to the mass tourism of other areas on the Mediterranean coast. The area near Tarifa is known to be an important windsurf area and similar sports due to the almost permanent wind near the Strait of Gibraltar. The province encompasses 44 municipalities, besides its capital, other important cities are Jerez and Algeciras. According to a roster developed by the Council of Tourism and Sport of Andalusia on 27 March 2003, there are officially six traditional or touristic comarcas (provincial areas or counties) in the Province of Cádiz.

Cordoba Province

The Cordoba Province countryside is varied in it’s make-up from rolling and distant plains around Cordoba city, to the Guadalquivir basin and south of Seville, to magnificent mountain ranges to the north and west. There are many villages and small towns around the Cordoba province which have been around for many centuries, featuring old churches and old Castles. Cordoba is a region famous for both its dry white wines made from the Pedro Xímenez grape, and its olive oil which is very popular around Spain and Europe. Many a vineyard and olive grove can be seen in the Cordoba province and region especially to the south of Cordoba.

Granada Province

The Granada province is located in the eastern part of the Andalusia, the Granada capital city is also called Granada. It is bordered by the provinces of Albacete, Murcia, Almería, Jaén, Córdoba, Málaga, and the Mediterranean Sea, along the coast is known as the ‘Costa Tropical’, although it is certainly not as popular with foreign tourists as the Costa del Sol further west, although it does attract many Spanish holiday-makers. The main resorts are Almuñecar, Salobreña and La Herradura. The city of Granada brings in tourists from all over the world thanks to its Moorish architecture and famous Alhambra palace. In the winter the mountains of the Sierra Nevada play host to Europe’s most southerly ski resort. Hiking and eco-tourism also attract a number of visitors to areas such as the Alpujarras and Lecrin Valley.

Huelva Province

Huelva Province is located in the western part of Andalusia and is bordered by Portugal, the provinces of Badajoz, Seville, and Cádiz, and the Atlantic Ocean and its capital is Huelva. The Huelva province contains 79 municipalities throughtout its region and the economy is mostly based on agriculture and mining. The famous Rio Tinto mines have been worked since before 1000 BC, and were the major source of copper for the Roman Empire. The province contains Palos de la Frontera, and Moguer, where Christopher Columbus sailed out of on his first voyage in 1492.

Jaen Province

The Jaén Province is located in the eastern part of of Andalusia and is bordered by the provinces of Ciudad Real, Albacete, Granada and Córdoba and its capital is Jaén city. Jaen is one of the lesser known provinces of Spain compared to some of the coastal provinces such as the Costa del Sol. Jaen has four national parks, and many other protected natural and beautiful areas. The province also contains two Renaissance cities, Úbeda and Baeza, both recently declared a World Heritage Sites. Another claim to fame for the Jaen province is the annual chess tournament held in Linares which attracts many of the world’s best chess players. Jaén is one of the larger producers of olive oil in the world and produces around 60% of all Spanish production.

Seville Province

Seville Province is located in the western part of Andalusia and is bordered by the provinces of Málaga, Cádiz, Huelva, Badajoz, and Córdoba, and in total contains 105 municipalities. The Seville province shares the Parque Nacional de Doñana with Huelva province. Seville has a warm mediterranean climate with an annual average temperature of 18°C, and winters are generally mild whilst the summers are very warm or hot, with maximum temperatures in summer often exceeding 40°C. The locality of Écija is popularly known as the “Frying pan of Andalusia” for its torrid summers. Seville is the 4th most populated province in Spain and the most populated in Andalusia with nearly 2 million residents. Seville is one of the busiest cities in Andalusia for tourism, but is behind Barcelona and Madrid on a national level.

Credits: &